Promoting giant panda conservation with Citywalk
Promoting giant panda conservation with Citywalk

OPCFHK collaborated with Citywalk once again to promote giant panda conservation in Hong Kong! This year, to support OPCFHK and wildlife conservation even further, Citywalk took a step forward and sponsored a trip to the Shaanxi province of China for the “Panda Action 2013” students, where they carried out their own promotional campaigns and education programmes about sustainable development and giant panda conservation. Learn more about “Panda Action 2013”...

The Giant Panda Conservation Programme public launch took place in March at Citywalk, located in Tsuen Wan District. The students of “Panda Action 2013”, with the Foundation’s Deputy Director Mr. Timothy Ng, introduced the mission of “Panda Action 2013” and promoted giant panda conservation to the audience. They also integrated their conservation message into mini interactive games and a dance performance.
Citywalk was transformed into a bamboo forest where an exhibit displayed interesting facts about the giant pandas and their natural habitat. In addition, they could visit the adorable giant panda donation kiosk where they could donate money with their Octopus cards, supporting OPCFHK’s giant panda conservation work and post-earthquake habitat rebuilding efforts.

For Citywalk’s summer kick-off ceremony, the students of “Panda Action 2013” shared the highlights of their meaningful trip to Shaanxi Province. The students had made a video as well as an exhibit, which captured focal moments of their trips, to showcase their efforts to the public of Hong Kong and. They also hoped that these would engage more people to adopt a sustainable lifestyle and to contribute to the conservation of giant pandas and their habitats.

  

© Citywalk

During yet another summer event Mr. Francis Mak, the founder of the” Never Give Up Association”, led over 360 secondary school students of “NGUA 2013” and “NGUJ 2013” to join the Ocean Park Giant Panda Conservation Tour sponsored by Citywalk. On the tour, the students learned about giant pandas and their habitat and visited other animal exhibits to help them prepare their entries for the “Creative Conservation Artwork Competition”!

The summer finale ceremony of the Giant Panda Conservation Programme was held on 31st August, when the students of “Panda Action 2013” joined other guests in celebrating the successful completion of the programme. The creative art pieces of the students who joined the Ocean Park Giant Panda Conservation Tour were displayed at Citywalk from 31st Aug to 31st Oct 2013, where the artwork used creative means to convey conservation messages. For example, some students used recycled materials to build 3D animal models, integrating the concepts of both wildlife conservation and recycling into art.

OPCFHK would like to thank Citywalk and all the participants for supporting giant panda conservation!

与荃新天地一起「关爱.大熊猫」
与荃新天地一起「关爱.大熊猫」
 

保育基金今年与荃新天地再度合作,携手向香港市民推广保育讯息!今年的主题为国宝大熊猫,荃新天地为了进一步支持保育工作,更赞助了「熊猫行动2013」的同学们前往陕西佛坪进行自行设计的教育及小区宣传活动,向当地民众推广环保及保育大熊猫的讯息!「熊猫行动2013」详情...

「关爱.大熊猫2013」活动于3月中时揭幕,「熊猫行动2013」的同学们当日将环保讯息融入观众游戏及舞蹈表演,并与保育基金副总监吴守坚先生一起向荃湾区居民介绍「熊猫行动2013」及宣扬大熊猫保育讯息!

访客们置身于布置成竹林的荃新天地内,除了可以参观商场内所设的展览认识有关大熊猫及其栖息地的有趣资料和现况外,更可前往可爱的大熊猫八达通机捐出善款,支持保育基金的大熊猫保育工作及地震后的栖息地重建!

7月的夏日启动礼中,「熊猫行动2013」的同学们向大家分享他们陕西佛坪之旅时的点滴,更将在旅程中的难忘的教学经验和宣传活动辑录成短片及展览材料,希望香港市民亦能被「熊猫行动2013」所感动,一起改变生活小习惯,支持环保,保育大熊猫和牠们的栖息地!

© Citywalk

暑假期间,荃新天地更支持<永不放弃同学会2013>及<同学仔>,由创办人麦润寿先生带领360多名中学生前往海洋公园参加大熊猫保育之旅,了解大熊猫的生活习性及其栖息地的独特性!更参观其他展馆搜集资料为「生态保育‧融入生活」创意大赛作准备。

整个「关爱.大熊猫2013」活动于8月31日闭幕,「熊猫行动2013」的同学代表与其他嘉宾一起为这个保育大熊猫的活动划上完美句号。而「生态保育‧融入生活」的所有参赛作品亦于831日至1031日于荃新天地荃新艺廊展出,希望能透过同学们的作品向公众分享当中所传达的保育讯息,例如有同学利用废物原料制造3D模型,将生态保育及废物利用等环保概念一起融入作品里!

保育基金在此感谢荃新天地,所有同学们的参与及各界对保育大熊猫的支持!