Wild Macaques Contraceptive Programme

Background

In the past, provision of food by humans resulted in the rapid increase in numbers of the local macaque populations in Kam Shan, Lion Rock and Shing Mun Country Parks. In 1999, feeding wild macaques has been prohibited by the Agriculture, Fisheries and Conservation Department (AFCD) to encourage wild macaques to revert to the countryside for natural food. However, some macaques remain habituated to both people and human food. Human-macaque interactions occasionally result in conflict and macaque behaviour is interpreted as aggressive as seen when macaques snatch bags from people in search of food.

Since 2009, OPCFHK has been contracted by AFCD to help manage the local population of wild macaques with the implementation of a contraceptive programme. Female macaques are sterilised via endoscopic tubectomy, a contraceptive operation that leaves the ovaries in place but interrupts the fallopian tubes, thus not allowing the egg to meet the spermatozoa. In 2014 we started performing endoscopic vasectomies on males. The contraceptive programme successfully reduced the birth rate by more than half, from over 60% in 2009 to below 30% in recent years. This programme aims to sterilise 80% of the female macaque population that currently resides in these country parks. This contraceptive programme is one of the mitigation efforts in dealing with the rising issue of human macaque conflicts.

Contraceptive Programme

The contraceptive programme involves trapping troops of macaques once every two weeks, with a lower frequency during the hot summer months. The macaques are first habituated to enter a cage by OPCFHK’s Survey Officers. Once a troop is trapped, the macaques are anesthetised and given a thorough physical examination. They are also dewormed and vaccinated against rabies.

 

Adult and sub-adult macaques are selected for endoscopic tubectomy or vasectomy. This procedure, while rendering the animals infertile, retains the gonads (ovaries and testicles) intact and with it, the normal sexual behaviour. With experience and practice gained over the past years, the surgical procedure now only takes four to seven minutes to complete.

 

After the surgical procedure, the macaques are given a tattoo on their chest to indicate they have undergone the procedure. Each macaque troop has its own tattoo pattern for easy identification. When all the macaques have recovered from the anaesthesia, they are released on site the same day.

Population Survey

Two OPCFHK Survey Officers survey the Kam Shan, Lion Rock and Shing Mun Country Parks daily to collect much needed information on the present status of the wild macaques, including their habitat use and range, demography and birth rate of individual troops. The data collected is vital for assessing the success of the contraceptive programme as well as for future planning in managing this population.

The total population of wild macaques in Hong Kong is estimated at 2,000 individuals. On-going survey efforts have identified over 22 macaque troops with an estimated population of 1,600 individuals within the Kam Shan, Lion Rock and Shing Mun Country Parks; and the largest troop within this area has more than 250 individual macaques.

Get Involved

You have an important role to play in helping manage the local macaque populations. Do not feed the wild macaques! When they no longer associate people with food, they would remain in countryside in search of natural food, reducing negative human macaque interactions. Let's strive for peaceful co-existence.

野猴保育计划

背景

过去因人们喂饲野生猴子,使金山、狮子山及城门郊野公园的野猴数量曾经急速增长。为鼓励野猴回归郊野觅取天然食物, 渔农自然护理署(渔护署)于1999年开始实施禁止喂饲野猴的法例。然而,部分野猴仍然习惯被人喂饲。人类与野猴之间的接触偶尔会造成冲突,而野猴抢夺人们手中的袋以寻找食物的行为,会被视为具侵略性的行为。

为了控制野生猴子的繁殖数量,保育基金自2009年起受渔护署委任,为雌性野猴进行内视镜微创输卵管结扎手术,并于2014年开始为雄性野猴进行内视镜微创输精管结扎手术。此绝育计划成功把本地野猴的出生率降低超过一半,从2009年超过六成降至近年低于三成。此计划的目标是为这三个郊野公园内八成以上的雌性野猴进行绝育手术,是其中一项缓解人类与野猴冲突的措施。

绝育手术

每两个星期,保育基金的团队会在野外设置的大型捕猴笼捕捉野生猴子群,为它们进行绝育手术(在夏季,由于受炎热天气所影响,捕捉的次数或会减少)。保育基金的两位野猴生态调查员每天都会将野猴引入大笼内,令它们习惯于进入笼中。当猴子群被困时,兽医及工作人员便会逐一为它们注射麻醉药、进行详细的身体检查、杜虫,及注射疯狗症疫苗。

 

成年和青年的野猴会被挑选接受内视镜微创输卵管或输精管结扎手术,此技术不但可令野猴永久绝育,同时亦可完整地保留野猴的性腺(即卵巢及睾丸),让它们正常地进行交配。这些年来所累积的经验及实践令手术时间大大缩短,整个手术过程可于四至七分钟内完成。

 

手术完成后,工作人员便会在野猴的胸口位置纹身,作为已接受绝育手术的标记。不同的纹身图案代表不同的猴群。野猴麻醉药力过后,工作人员便会即日于现场将它们放归野外。

数量调查

保育基金的两位野猴生态调查员每天会到郊野公园进行数量调查,从而提供各项重要的资料及数据,协助我们有效地了解野猴的情况,例如每个猴群栖息的范围和用途、年龄分布和出生率等。这些资料对于评估现时绝育计划的成效,及野猴数量管理的未来规划是不可或缺的。

香港野生猴子总数目估计约为2,000只左右。根据保育基金的生态调查结果显示,目前在金山郊野公园、狮子山郊野公园及城门郊野公园约有超过22个猴群,合共约1,600只野猴,而最大的猴群有超过250只野猴。

你如何帮助

你在本地野猴数量的管理也扮演著重要的角色。切勿喂饲它们!当野猴不再将「人类」和「食物」联想在一起,它们就会留在郊野中寻找天然食物,而人类和野猴之间负面的互动亦会随之减少。请大家与我们携手为人类与野猴间的和谐共存而努力吧!