"Don't Feed Wild Animals" Programme

In recent years, human feeding appears to be one of the major causes of inducing the unnatural growth of monkey and wild pig population in Hong Kong. Through frequent contacts with humans, these wild animals might lose their instinctive fear to humans and become habituated to stay near the urban area to approach human for food. Some of them might even become aggressive and stray into nearby urban settlement for searching of abandoned rubbish, or snatching plastic bags from human and causing human-wild animals conflict in the society. To abate the conflict, Agriculture, Fisheries and Conservation Department (AFCD) has adopted multiple approaches, including the enactment of feeding ban under Wild Animals Protection Ordinance in 1999 and the implementation of contraceptive programme for long-term control of the monkey and wild pig population. Meanwhile, various educational and publicity programmes have also been implemented by AFCD to educate the public about the negative consequence of feeding wild animal, as well as the preventive measures against human-wildlife conflicts.

Since 2018, Ocean Park Conservation Foundation, Hong Kong (OPCFHK) has been appointed by AFCD to organise and manage the first fauna educational programme – “Don’t Feed Wild Animals” Programme, aiming to reach out the public at feeding blackspots and deliver the message of not feeding wild animals during the contract period.

Wild Animals in Hong Kong

With Hong Kong being a small city with dense human population, many people may overlook her rich biodiversity. In fact, there are many mammals in Hong Kong, with more than 50 species recorded, including monkeys and wild pigs.

Monkey

Monkeys are mainly distributed in Kam Shan, Lion Rock, Shing Mun Country Parks and Tai Po Kau Nature Reserve in Hong Kong. The species includes Rhesus Macaque (Macaca mulatta), Long-tailed Macaque (M. fascicularis) and their hybrids. Hong Kong falls within the range of natural distribution of the Rhesus Macaque (Macaca mulatta). However, the original wild stock is believed to have become extirpated. The existing wild monkey populations are considered as the descendants of the individuals which have been introduced to the Kowloon Hills, i.e. Kam Shan and Lion Rock Country Parks in the 1910s.

The total population of wild macaques in Hong Kong is estimated at 1,800 individuals. They live in troops that can reach up to 200 individuals. Their natural diet includes forest leaves, flowers, shoots, roots and barks as well as insects as supplements. AFCD has planted suitable trees in country parks to provide plenty of natural food for monkeys.

Interesting behaviours:

  1. Storing food in their cheek pouches like hamsters
  2. Grooming, including taking bugs (i.e. insects, tangled fur) and debris out of the fur of each other, is a part of their social behaviours
  3. Opening mouth and jumping towards human is a part of their defensive behaviours; however, they usually do not attack if direct gazing is avoided
  4. Their face and rump will become more red during mating seasons

Wild Pig

Wild Pig (Sus scrofa) is the largest native terrestrial mammal in Hong Kong with adults weighing up to 200 kg and reaching a body length up to 2 m. They have thick and short bristly coats of brownish grey to black colour. Young wild pigs are born with a coat of chocolate and cream coloured stripes along their torso. This pattern fades within the first six months to one year. 

Wild pigs are opportunistic omnivores that feed on bulbs, roots and tubers, as well as earthworms and insects. They are also good swimmers.

Interesting behaviours:

  1. They are secretive and wary of human contact in general
  2. They are nocturnal animals (active during the night)
  3. Adult males are solitary while adult females flock with piglets

“Don’t Feed Wild Animals” Programme

With the aim to further engage the public, in addition to school talks, a series of outreaching education activities including guided tours and educational booths around the subject are performed at Piper’s Hill Car Park and Kam Shan or Lion Rock Country Parks during weekends and/or public holidays. The “Don’t Feed Wild Animals” Programme focuses on deterring suspected feeding activities, raising public awareness and encouraging them to respect wildlife.

Public Awareness

In recent years, some wild animals including monkeys and wild pigs have adapted to forage near the border of country parks or even lingering in the human settlements of which leaded to human–wildlife conflicts. Such conflicts would lead to the risk of animal attack, habitat deterioration, traffic accidents or environmental hygiene.

Since 2018, over 13,000 people received a better understanding of the natural behaviours of wild animals and the importance of not feeding them through guided tours and educational booths.

Deter Suspected Feeding Activities

In addition to conveying the message on not feeding wild animals, during the operation of educational booth, OPCFHK team often observe some suspected feeding activites. For instance, people are holding human food in the presence of monkeys or deliberately leave bulk food behind. Hence, OPCFHK team spares no effort to stop any suspected feeding activities on site.

Community Education

Since July 2018, over 50 free educational talks and eco-tours were held both on site (country parks) and at schools. Educational booths around the subject are also performed at Piper’s Hill Car Park and Kam Shan or Lion Rock Country Parks during weekends and/or public holidays.

In order to enhance public understanding on the proper ways of interacting with wildlife, OPCFHK and AFCD have designed a series of educational talks suitable for kindergartens and primary schools in the 2019/20 school year. The talks mainly introduce the commonly seen monkeys and wild pigs in Hong Kong and the correct behavior when encountering these wild animals, such as not feeding them. Students can also gain practical knowledge through interactive games.

Get Involved

Passionate in spreading the words and helping the precious wild life in Hong Kong? Join us and be our volunteer! “'Don’t Feed Wild Animals' Volunteer Programme 2019/20" aims to promote the message of not feeding wild animals whilst engaging the public to be a conservation ambassador. For more details, please click here.

「停止餵飼野生動物」計劃

近年人為餵飼似乎是導致猴子和野豬在香港出現非自然增長的主要原因之一,經過與人類頻密的接觸,有些野生動物失去了畏懼人類的本性並逐漸習慣於市區附近接近人類以獲取食物。有些野生動物更會變得具侵略性,走近民居尋找被棄置的廚餘或搶奪居民手上的食物,造成人類與野生動物的衝突。有見及此漁農自然護理署(漁護署)採取了不同的緩解措施,包括於 1999 年開始根據《野生動物保護條例》實施了禁止餵飼猴子的法例並分別成立了針對猴子及野豬的避孕和絕育計劃,從而控制牠們的數量。與此同時漁護署亦推行各種教育和推廣計劃,以教育市民餵飼野生動物的負面影響及如何預防人類與野生動物的衝突。

香港海洋公園保育基金(保育基金)自 2018 年起受漁護署委任,以策劃並推行首個相關的生態教育計劃 ─「停止餵飼野生動物」計劃,旨在於郊野公園及附近範圍教育市民及宣揚停止餵飼野生動物的信息。

香港的野生動物

在香港這片人口稠密的彈丸城市,大多數人都忽略了她豐富的生物多樣性。其實香港的哺乳類動物種類繁多,有記錄的品種已經超過 50 個,其中當然包括猴子和野豬。

猴子

香港的猴子主要分布於金山、獅子山、城門郊野公園及大埔滘自然護理區。棲居於香港的猴子品種有獼猴 (Macaca mulatta)、長尾獼猴 (M. fascicularis) 及牠們的雜交種。香港雖然位於獼猴的自然分布範圍內,但原有的野生群落相信已經絕跡。現存的猴群是於1910年代在九龍山一帶(即金山及獅子山郊野公園)再次被引入的個體之後代。

香港的猴子總數估計為1,800隻。牠們會分成不同的猴群,而一個猴群的數目更可多達200隻。牠們的天然食物包括葉、花、樹枝、植物根部和樹皮,偶已也會捕捉昆蟲作為補充。另外,漁護署亦在郊野公園種植合適的樹木,為猴子提供足夠的天然食物。

有趣的行為:

  1. 牠們會像倉鼠般將食物收藏在嘴內的頰囊內
  2. 互相梳毛及捉蝨是表示友好的行為,是猴子間的社交活動之一
  3. 如猴子張大嘴巴和向前撲向人類,是威嚇的表現;但只要把視線移開,牠們通常不會真的作出攻擊
  4. 猴子的臉部及臀部在發情期和交配季節會呈較紅的顏色

野豬

野豬 (Sus scrofa)是本地體型最大的原生陸棲哺乳動物,成豬體重可達200公斤及體長達2米。牠們長有厚而粗糙的短毛,毛色為灰棕至黑。幼豬初出生時毛色呈深淺棕色條紋,條紋會在頭6個月至1歲後慢慢消失。

野豬是雜食性動物,以進食植物的根及球莖或泥土中的小動物(如昆蟲或蚯蚓等)為主。牠們亦善於游泳。

有趣的行為:

  1. 野豬的行蹤隱秘,一般會避開人類
  2. 牠們是夜行性動物,活躍於夜間
  3. 雄豬通常單獨行動,而母豬則會與幼豬成群出沒

「停止餵飼野生動物」計劃

為了更廣泛向公眾宣揚「停止餵飼」的信息,除了學校講座外,保育基金更於週末及/或公眾假期在琵琶山停車場和金山或獅子山郊野公園舉辦一系列的外展教育活動 ─ 包括導賞團和教育攤位等。「停止餵飼野生動物」計劃旨在提高公眾意識並鼓勵他們尊重野生動物。

提高公眾意識

猴子及野豬等野生動物,近年已經適應在郊野公園邊界附近覓食,甚至在市區徘徊,加劇了人類與野生動物的衝突。這些衝突有可能導致動物作出攻擊、引發交通事故或破壞環境衛生等風險。

自2018年起,已有超過13,000位公眾人士受惠於此計劃的導賞團和教育攤位,參加者除了有效了解野生動物的自然行為外,更明白到不餵飼牠們的重要性。

阻止可疑餵飼行為

在宣揚不餵飼野生動物的信息的同時,保育基金經常在教育攤位附近發現一些疑似餵飼行為,例如人們在猴子面前拿著食物或故意留下大量食物等。因此保育基金將不遺餘力地勸止現場的任何可疑餵飼行為。

社區教育

自2018年7月起,計劃在郊野公園和學校共舉辦了超過50次免費的教育講座和生態導賞團。而教育攤位則會於週末及/或公眾假期在琵琶山停車場和金山或獅子山郊野公園設立。

爲了加強公眾對正確與野生動物相處的認識,保育基金與漁護署更為2019/20學年設計了一套適合於幼稚園及小學舉行的教育講座。講座主要介紹本地常見的野生猴子及野豬,以及遇見這些野生動物時正確的行為,例如不應餵飼牠們等。同學更可藉著參與互動遊戲從中實踐與野生動物和諧共處的方法。

您的參與

如果您希望為宣揚「停止餵飼野生動物」的重要性及保育香港珍貴的野生動物出一分力,保育基金歡迎您加入我們的義工團隊!「2019/20 年度停止餵飼野生動物」義工計劃旨在透過讓公眾參與成為保育大使向市民及遊客宣揚不餵飼野生動物的信息。有關詳情,請點擊這裡