5.22 International Biodiversity Day

 

The International Biodiversity Day is annually celebrated on May 22.  According to the International Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN) Red List of Threatened Species, there are over 11,000 endangered species with over 2,000 species listed as “critically endangered” globally in 2013.  Here in Hong Kong, according to the Agriculture, Fisheries and Conservation Department, we have more than 3,100 species of vascular plants, of which about 2,100 are native; some 50 species of mammals; over 500 species of birds; 185 species of freshwater fish, about 80 species of reptiles and more than 20 amphibian species.  Insect diversity is also very high with more than 240 species of butterflies and around 115 species of dragonflies.  Sadly, over a hundred of them are endangered, of which about 40 species are listed as “critically endangered”, including the three-banded box turtle and hawksbill turtle.

 

In order to increase public awareness of wildlife conservation and to appeal for public support, OPCFHK led a group of “wild animals”, including the “giant panda”, “red panda”, “finless porpoise” and other marine animals, to make a surprise appearance in Mong Kok on May 17 and 18, 2014.

 

Over 780 people made conservation or green pledges, and uploaded the photos to Facebook to express concerns about endangered or threatened wild animals, including local species like Chinese white dolphin, finless porpoise, seahorse and horseshoe crab.

5.22國際生物多樣性日

 

每年的5月22日為「國際生物多樣性日」,《世界自然保護聯盟瀕危物種紅色名錄》資料顯示,2013年的全球瀕危物種超過11,000個,當中有超過2,000個物種被列為「極度瀕危」級別。而根據香港漁農自然護理署的資料,香港的生物多樣性非常豐富,包括維管束植物逾3,100 種 (其中約2,100種為本地品種)、哺乳類動物約50種、鳥類逾500種、淡水魚類185種、爬蟲類動物約80種,及兩棲類動物逾20種。而昆蟲的品種亦十分繁多,有超過240種蝴蝶及約115種蜻蜓。可惜,當中有過百種瀕危動物正面對嚴峻的生存威脅,其中有近40種更被列為「極度瀕危」,包括為港人熟悉的金錢龜和玳瑁。

 

為提高市民對野生生態保育的關注,保育基金於2014年5月17至18日,率領一眾「野生動物」,包括國寶級的「大熊貓」、「小熊貓」、江豚和多種海洋生物,驚喜現身旺角行人專用區呼籲市民支持野生生態保育工作。

 

活動成功引來不少市民的圍觀及支持。短短兩天,超過780位途人舉起印有保育或環保承諾的牌子拍照,並上載於社交網站Facebook,表達他們對瀕危或受威脅野生動物的關注,如本土的中華白海豚、江豚、海馬和馬蹄蟹等。