Recovering the Mudflat Habitat of Horseshoe Crabs in Ha Pak Nai
Recovering the Mudflat Habitat of Horseshoe Crabs in Ha Pak Nai

Over 1000 lbs of oyster farm debris was removed from the horseshoe crab's natural habitat in Ha Pak Nai on 31 October 2010, following a joint clean-up by OPCFHK, Mr. Kevin Laurie and the PLK Laws Foundation College. This clean-up is vital to the wild horseshoe crabs living at Ha Pak Nai and will make life easier for the newly released ones in 2011.


A year ago before the clean-up (c) Kevin Laurie 1,000 lbs debris removed! (c) Kevin Laurie
Briefing was made before the clean-up by Mr. Kevin Laurie and OPCFHK Deputy Director Mr. Timothy Ng
Removing oyster shells and debris to allow growth of sea grass, an important nursery ground for juvenile horseshoe crabs.
Off we go for the clean-up. Gear up with boots, gloves and buckets! Leave no traces except footprints.
Kevin collected the wild horseshoe crabs in the morning and they stay safe in the bucket whilst we clean their habitat, before returning them into the wild. Though as small as 5 cm in diameter, it took them over a year to grow to this size.
Molts and specimens Kevin collected from the mudflat or from fishermen. Students were curious about the specimens.
Wild horseshoe crabs hide in the mud and leave a trail.
Another round of clean-up before the tide comes. The oyster shells trap excess carbon dioxide in the ocean and act as buffers to help maintain a healthy pH for the oceans, they will break down slowly to supplement the ocean's natural carbon cycle.
Returning the horseshoe crabs to the natural habitat after the clean-up.
OPCFHK is sponsoring a Juvenile Horseshoe Crab Rearing Programme where students were given the opportunity to take care of artificially-bred horseshoe crabs before releasing them into the wild. This programme was a joint effort of Ocean Park Academy, City University of Hong Kong (technical advisor) and OPCFHK to promote horseshoe crab conservation.

清潔下白泥泥灘 修復馬蹄蟹生境
清潔下白泥泥灘 修復馬蹄蟹生境

2010年10月31日,保育基金與Kevin Laurie先生聯同保良局羅氏基金中學的師生,在下白泥進行清潔泥灘活動,清除超過一千磅的蠔殼及廢料,協助修復野生馬蹄蟹的生境。該地點也是2011年野放人工繁殖馬蹄蟹的選址。

 

清潔泥灘前一年 (c) Kevin Laurie 清除一千磅蠔殼後 (c) Kevin Laurie
   
出發前先聽聽Kevin 與保育基金副總監Timothy的簡介。
   
清除蠔殼及石樁有助海草生長,為年幼馬蹄蟹提供合適的棲息環境。
   
整裝待發,穿上水靴及手套,帶備膠桶滿載而歸,留下的只有足印。
   
Kevin大清早將野生馬蹄蟹從泥灘移至膠桶內,以免清潔時把牠們弄傷,待清潔後再將牠們放回野外。雖然牠們體型細小,但卻要多於一年時間才生長至五厘米大小。
   
Kevin從泥灘或漁民處收集得來的脫殼及標本,同學們看得非常仔細。
   
野生馬蹄蟹藏身泥灘,但仍可見牠爬行的痕跡。
   
在潮漲前再收集多點蠔殼。蠔殼能夠儲存海洋裡過多的二氧化碳,有助海洋維持健康的酸鹼度,它們會在沙灘上慢慢被大自然侵蝕為細沙,在海洋的天然碳循環裡繼續發揮作用。
   
清潔過後將早上移走的馬蹄蟹放回野外棲息地。
   
 
「馬蹄蟹校園保姆計劃」讓中學生透過照料年幼馬蹄蟹,體驗馬蹄蟹保育工作。活動完結後,該批由人工繁殖的馬蹄蟹會回歸野外,繼續生命旅程。是次計劃由保育基金贊助、香港城市大學提供技術支援,並由海洋公園學院執行。