Flag Day 2021

 

Public Subscription Permit No.: FD/R044/2021

Though Hong Kong is densely populated, 3/4 belongs to the countryside with rich biodiversity of 5,943 types of recorded marine life which equal to approx. 26% of all in China.  The ecosystem is maintained because of the vast biodiversity taking its own role and also becoming interdependent. 

It is vital to maintain biodiversity.  Yet, pollution caused by humans, over-exploitation and damage leads to the loss of marine habitat and increase of debris threatening marine lives, eventually humans will become one of the victims. Ocean Park Conservation Foundation, Hong Kong (OPCFHK) is going to host the Flag Day on Hong Kong Island on August 21, 2021 to raise funds for local cetacean stranding cases, community & public education and local conservation research projects.

The theme of this Hong Kong Island Flag Day is “Cherish the Hidden Treasures”, each flag is printed with an endangered species of local habitat. The Flag design will promote local biodiversity with 6 species, Golden Birdwing, Green Turtle, Corals, Horseshoe Crab, Beale’s Eyed Turtle and Indo-Pacific Finless Porpoise. OPCFHK aims to raise public awareness on the vast local biodiversity and understand the importance of protecting endangered species and ecosystem.

The Director of Social Welfare has given approval to three organisations to sell flags to solicit donations, one each at the Hong Kong Island region, Kowloon region and the New Territories region on August 21, 2021 and OPCFHK is authorised to conduct flag sale in Hong Kong Island region on that day.  

 

Indo-Pacific finless porpoise

Listed as a vulnerable species, it is estimated that a mere 200 finless porpoises remain in Hong Kong and adjacent waters. Finless porpoises face a number of threats, such as fishing net entanglement, habitat loss and disturbance, marine traffic and pollution.

Beal's eyed turtle

Ocean Park Conservation Foundation, Hong Kong (OPCFHK) has funded a research project to strengthen trade enforcements for local species, to enhance enforcement against the illegal trade of wild turtles.

Green Turtle

Green turtles often mistake plastic bags for jellyfish, which can lead to death. To protect green turtles and other marine life, starting from today, join our No Straw Campaign and aim for a plastic-free lifestyle.

Golden Birdwing

The eye-catching appearance has made the golden birdwing vulnerable to poaching. Therefore, the golden birdwing and other common birdwings are protected by an international treaty and Hong Kong law. The capturing, trading, importing, and exporting of specimens are prohibited.。

Chinese horseshoe crab

To conserve local horseshoe crabs, OPCFHK is committed to publicizing horseshoe crab conservation messages to the public. This has been achieved through scientific education initiatives such as the Juvenile Horseshoe Crab School Rearing Programme, population survey, cleaning mudflats, and the restoration of horseshoe crab habitats.。

Acropora corals

The rapid decline of corals is mainly derived from human activities. It is understood that climate change, ocean acidification, and chemical pollution all contribute to coral degradation. Another major threat comes in the form of an often-neglected pollutant – chemical sunscreen, in particular, that can harm corals. To conserve our beautiful corals and help them regain their wonderful colours, let’s choose to cover up our body with sun-protective clothing next time we visit the beach.

Volunteer Registration

As volunteers, receive an e-certificate and “buy one get one free Ocean Park general admission ticket coupon”, valid from August 21, 2021 till December 31, 2021 and not valid from December 25 - 27, 2021.

Thank you for your kind support.  Our volunteer registration is full. 

Gold Flag Purchase 

To raise funds for OPCFHK,  limited edition gifts were available for purchase*:

HK$ Limited edition gifts
$50

Mask printed with the 6 local endangered species (10pcs)

$100

 

Adorable panda face mask holder (1pc)

Adorable Panda Face Mask Holder Video 
https://youtu.be/0D_jFTmGzdo

 

*All gifts are available on a first-come, first-served basis.

Gold Flag Purchase has been completed. 

 

Mask Sponsor

Sponsors

              

 

                       

 

For enquiries, please email to opcf@oceanpark.com.hk  or contact us at 3923-2300

香港海洋公園保育基金港島區賣旗日

 

公開籌款許可證編號: FD/R044/2021

香港雖然人煙稠密,但約四分之三是郊野,其生物多樣性極之豐富,當中有研究就錄得香港海洋有多達5,943種海洋生物,佔中國約26%的海洋物種。大自然生態得以平衡,全因生物多樣性,牠們各司其職,同時互相依賴,才使地球生態平衡。

維持生物的多樣性是非常重要的。不過,人為的污染、過度開發和破壞,令動物棲息地喪失、海洋垃圾的問題更威脅海洋動物的生命,人類最終只會成為受害的一分子。

香港海洋公園保育基金將於2021年8月21日舉辦港島區賣旗日。今次港島區賣旗日的旗紙以「珍惜生態寶藏」為題,並宣傳保育六個本地瀕危物種,當中包括金裳鳳蝶、綠海龜、鹿角珊瑚、馬蹄蟹、眼斑水龜及印度太平洋江豚,藉此讓公眾更加認識本地豐富的生物多樣性,了解保護瀕危物種及自然生態的重要性。是次籌得款項將為保育基金在香港的鯨豚擱淺跟進、社區及公眾教育工作和本地物種保育的科研項目籌款。

社會福利署署長已批准三間機構於2021年8月21日分別於香港島區、九龍區及新界區進行賣旗籌款,而保育基金獲准於當天在香港島區賣旗。

印度太平洋江豚

Indo-Pacific finless porpoise

印度太平洋江豚屬於易危的物種,現時估計在香港及鄰近水域的族群數量約200條。面對著的威脅,包括被漁網誤纏、棲息地受損及流失、海上交通及水質污染等。

眼斑水龜

Beal's eyed turtle

香港海洋公園保育基金(保育基金)透過資助本地瀕危龜類種群研究,提高對本地瀕危淡水龜品種的貿易執法管制,以加強打擊非法買賣野生龜類

綠海龜

Green Turtle

因為塑膠垃圾外形像水母,海龜常見誤食後導致哽咽及阻塞食道和胃等繼而死亡。為保護綠海龜和其他海洋動物,今日開始一起走飲管」及實踐減塑生活啦!

金裳鳳蝶

Golden Birdwing

金裳鳳蝶因奪目的外表,引來不法之徒捕捉牟利。故此,金裳鳳蝶與其他裳鳳蝶都受到國際的貿易公約和香港的法例保護,禁止捕捉、買賣和限制標本出口。

中國鱟

Chinese horseshoe crab

為保育本地馬蹄蟹,香港海洋公園保育基金致力以馬蹄蟹校園保母計劃、種群普查、清潔泥灘,修復馬蹄蟹棲息地等科學普及教育向大眾宣揚保育馬蹄蟹訊息。

鹿角珊瑚

Acropora corals

人類活動是造成珊瑚群落嚴重減少的主要原因。氣候變化、海水酸化及化學污染導致珊瑚死亡。而往往被忽視的污染源—化學性防曬產品更是珊瑚面對的最大威脅之一。為保育珊瑚,下次出行,你可以選擇以衣物遮擋身體,防止紫外線的侵襲!

 

義工報名

參與義工可享有海洋公園標準入場門票買一送一優惠劵一張 (優惠劵有效期由至2021年8月21日至12月31日,不適用於2021年12月25日至27日)及電子參與証書一張。

多謝支持, 義工報名名額已滿你可認購金旗繼續支持保育基金。詳情請往下看。

 

 

金旗認購

為保育基金籌募經費,以下金額即可認購下列期間限定禮品*:

港幣 期間限定禮品
$50

印有六款本地瀕危物種的彩色口罩10個

$100

 

可愛熊貓口罩套1個

可愛熊貓口罩套示範

https://youtu.be/0D_jFTmGzdo

*禮品數量有限,欲購從速。

金旗認購已完結

口罩贊助

贊助

              

 

                       

 

如有任何查詢,請電郵至 :  opcf@oceanpark.com.hk  或致電3923 2300與我們聯絡。