Vision & Mission

OPCFHK is committed to advocating, facilitating and participating in effective conservation of Asian wildlife, with an emphasis on Chinese white dolphins and giant pandas as well as their habitats through partnerships, fundraising, research and education.  It envisions a world where Asian wildlife remains biologically diverse under the stewardship of humans, corporations and governments.

Since its expansion in 2005, the Ocean Park Conservation Foundation Hong Kong (OPCFHK) has allocated over $80 million to fund 479 research projects on cetaceans, giant pandas and many other species. In 2018/19, OPCFHK funded three projects to combat illegal wildlife trade in endangered species. We also participate in the conservation and research of local freshwater turtles. Whilse continuing the operation of the Marine Mammal Stranding Response Team in Hong Kong since 2006, the Foundation has extended the Strading Response Programme to threatened species of sharks and rays in 2016. In 2017, OPCFHK also funded a long term project on multi-species study evaluating the impacts of habitat fragmentation and quality on ranging patterns of threatened wildlife in the Sabah, Malaysian Borneo. Giant panda conservation efforts were extended from infrastructure rebuilding after earthquake to a three-year donation commitment to support scientific research, capacity building, as well as education projects being carried out in Sanjiang field station under Sichuan Wolong National Nature Reserve.

OPCFHK continues to inspire university students to engage in field work as part of its University Student Sponsorship Programme in Wildlife Conservation, and connects secondary school students as well as corporations to horseshoe crab conservation efforts in Hong Kong through the rearing and fostering programme.

In June 2018, OPCFHK also launched the "No Straw Campaign" - a wider and on-going movement to further encourage a reduction in the use of disposable straws and other plastics in Hong Kong, taking a significant step towards helping to safeguard our marine eco-system.

In 2010/11 financial year, a strategic retreat of the Foundation was held to discuss its next five year direction, and confirmed the revised vision and mission:

Vision:
We envision a world where Asian wildlife remains biologically diverse under the stewardship of humans, corporations and governments.

Mission:
We are committed to advocating, facilitating and participating in effective conservation of Asian wildlife, with an emphasis on Chinese white dolphins and giant pandas as well as their habitats. This will be achieved through partnerships, fundraising, research and education.

Good Corporate Governance:
The Foundation believes that good corporate governance will assist the Trustees and Management to pursue objectives that are in the interests of the organisation and the public, lead to better corporate performance and reputation and is essential in attaining long‐term, sustainable growth. While recognising that corporate governance may be affected by many factors, the Foundation believes that the core principles of accountability, transparency and integrity are fundamental to good governance and has, therefore, adopted these as the cornerstone of the Foundation's governance framework.

 
Sign-up E-newsletter
Email Address

理念與宗旨

香港海洋公園保育基金(保育基金)承諾透過協作籌款、科研與教育,致力提倡促進及參與亞洲區內務實有效的野生生態保育工作,並重點保育中華白海豚與大熊貓以及其棲息地。保育基金展望各界無私合作,攜手保護亞洲野生生態長久繁盛豐饒。

保育基金自2005 年擴展以來,已撥款資助 479 項研究,研究物種包括鯨豚、大熊貓以及其他物種,資助總額逾港幣 8,000 萬。在 2018/19 年度,保育基金資助了三項打擊瀕危物種非法貿易的項目,另外亦會參與本地淡水龜的保育及研究工作。2006 年成立的「鯨豚擱淺行動組」亦於 2016 年將工作範疇延伸至其他瀕危的鯊魚和鯆魚物種。在 2017 年,保育基金資助了另一項在馬來西亞沙巴婆羅洲的長期研究項目,項目主要評估棲息地被破壞和碎化對當地瀕危野生動物的威脅和影響。而對大熊貓的保育工作則由地震後的基礎設施重建延伸到為期三年的捐贈承諾,主要支持在四川臥龍國家級自然保護區轄下的三江保護站的科學研究、能力建設和教育工作。

保育基金亦繼續透過「野外生態保育大學生贊助計劃」,啟迪大學生參與野外研究工作,而「馬蹄蟹保母計劃」則為中學生及企業員工提供參與本地馬蹄蟹保育工作的機會。

2018 年 6 月,保育基金宣布推出「無飲管運動」,以更廣泛及持續的方式鼓勵全港市民減用即棄塑膠飲管,以至其他一次性塑膠製品,為保育海洋生態踏出重要一步。

在 2010/11 年度,保育基金舉行了策略性會議討論未來 5 年的發展方向,當中確定了保育基金的新願景及宗旨:

願景:
我們展望各界無私合作 ,攜手保護亞洲野生生態長久繁盛豐饒。

宗旨:
我們承諾透過協作籌款與科研教育,致力提倡促進及參與亞洲區內務實有效的野生生態保育工作,並重點保育中華白海豚與大熊貓以及其棲息地。

良好的企業管治:
保育基金相信,良好的企業管治將有助受託人委員會和管理層達致符合保育基金和公眾人士利益的目標,締造更佳的企業表現和信譽,並是維持長遠持續增長不可或缺的要素。雖然我們明白到企業管治或會受眾多因素所影響,但保育基金相信問責制、透明度和誠信的核心原則是良好管治的支柱,因此採納此等原則作為保育基金管治框架的核心價值。