Hong Kong Marine Life Stranding and Education Centre

Funded by the HSBC 150th Anniversary Charity Programme, the Hong Kong Marine Life Stranding and Education Centre (HKMLSEC) is now officially opened. Equipped with comprehensive, advanced facilities including a computerised tomography (CT) scanner, histopathology examination laboratory and necropsy area, the HKMLSEC is well positioned to improve both the quantity and quality of data processing and analysis. The HKMLSEC offers a virtual data library of marine stranding cases, through which knowledge can be shared with external and overseas experts via a live streaming system and for consultation, filling the gaps of current stranding research, while strengthening the training and research capabilities of the Ocean Park Veterinary Centre, which has become a designated training clinic for Hong Kong’s veterinary practice, recently approved by the Veterinary Surgeons Board of Hong Kong.

In addition to professional workshops, HKMLSEC will play host to education tours and programmes for the public. The HKMLSEC Open Day Tour provides a close look at OPCFHK’s stranding response efforts and equipment involved. The Mystery of Marine Life Stranding programme offers junior secondary students an insider look into different examination techniques used in stranding investigations through interactive activities and case studies, while the Workplace Visits to Ocean Park – Animal Rescue programme will introduce senior secondary students to the advanced equipment and necropsy methods, and deep dive into the role of OPCFHK's Marine Life Stranding Response Team and Ocean Park’s veterinary team in animal rescue through experience sharing. 

Click here to learn more about local marine life stranding cases.

Open Day Guided Tour

Funded by the HSBC 150th Anniversary Charity Programme, the Hong Kong Marine Life Stranding and Education Centre (HKMLSEC) has officially opened on 2 September 2019. The HKMLSEC is the first full-scale necropsy, virtopsy and education facility in Asia. In order to further enhance education in conservation, OPCFHK offers the public (for Ocean Park admission ticket holder only) a free monthly Open Day guided tour so as to let our participants to have a closer look at our work in marine life conservation and stranding response operation.

During the tour, you will:

  • Learn about marine life (i.e. cetacean, shark and sea turtle) stranding programme
  • Find out how the team provides rapid response and investigation of stranded marine animals found in waters of Hong Kong and neighbour regions
  • Get to know the facility and equipment (i.e. CT scan, necropsy room, histopathology lab, walk-in freezer and fridge etc.)
  • Experience case study, skulls display, and stranding programme video showing
  • Learn about main threats of marine animals, especially cetacean, in Hong Kong

Remarks:

  • Tour time may vary, please refer to our website and Facebook for updates.
  • The facility is accessed by stairs. Should you need any special assistance, please make your reservation at (852) 3923-2323 at least 5 days in advance. No pre-booking needed otherwise.

Weather Arrangements:

In general, Ocean Park remains open in inclement weather, as we have many sheltered areas to protect visitors. However, in extremely adverse conditions such as when the Hong Kong Observatory issues a rainstorm warning or tropical cyclone signal, special Park arrangements will go into effect. For safety reasons, the tour may be suspended during inclement weather. Visitors should call Ocean Park enquiry hotline at (852) 3923 2323 or visit https://www.oceanpark.com.hk/en/weather-arrangements for information about our current weather arrangements.

Facility and Equipment

The Hong Kong Marine Life Stranding and Education Centre (HKMLSEC) is the first full-scale necropsy, virtopsy and education facility in Asia that offers all-round analysis of potential causes of marine life injury and death, while producing data-driven insights to help inform future monitoring and conservation efforts. The HKMLSEC is funded by the HSBC 150th Anniversary Charity Programme.

Background Information
Stranding Analysis

Since OPCFHK started cetacean stranding investigations in 2006, 30% of the cases were found with human-caused injuries. While entanglement, boat strikes and infections have been identified as the three major human-related factors threatening survivals of cetaceans in Hong Kong waters, most carcasses found are severely decomposed and only 10% of the causes of death can be determined.

With the opening of the new facility, Ocean Park Conservation Foundation, Hong Kong (OPCFHK) will be able to further investigate stranding cases and process more samples for laboratory analysis to fill the knowledge gaps.

Training

and

Education

The HKMLSEC is a unique medium to consolidate valuable stranding response skills, develop training resources, and facilitate local and regional research. It provides a platform for experts on the regional stranding network to exchange knowledge and skills to ensure high quality animal care and wildlife conservation in Asia.

The HKMLSEC also aims to inspire and train a new generation of scientists and conservationists. Through hands-on experiences and workshops, OPCFHK hopes to give the public an opportunity to learn more about stranding response operations and research, while expanding its conservation education efforts.

 

Necropsy Area
Equipment Details
CT Scan
  • Maximum capacity: 250kg
  • Both live and deceased animals can be scanned
  • Device can scan and examine if an animal has ingested plastic or foreign objects
  • Provide images of any internal injuries such as bone fractures and lesions in internal organs

 

Digital X-Ray
  • Allows immediate inspection for diagnosis
  • Device is portable, enabling veterinarians to scan areas that are hard to reach
  • Traditional X-ray procedures such as film changing and animal reposition are no longer required
  • Digital data facilitates better storage and sharing with external experts
Walk-in Fridge
  • Temperature: 4°C
  • Temporary storage of stranded carcasses
Walk-in Freezer
  • Temperature: -22°C
  • Long term storage of stranding case samples
The Histopathology Grossing Station
  • An organised workstation for gross examination and section of specimens after postmortem. Tissue samples will be preserved in formalin at the workstation
  • Equipped with continuous mechanical ventilation (both backdraft and downdraft exhaust) to protect the operator during sample handling from harmful vapours
  • Also equipped with a water supply, sink, formalin container and a waste container to minimise biohazards or chemical risks

 

 

Histopathology Lab Instruments
Equipment Details
Digital Slide Scanning System
  • The digital slide scanning system is an essential and state-of-the-art instrument in a model histology laboratory
  • Enables the digitisation of histopathology glass slides, which can then be viewed, copied and shared in original quality without risk of damage or loss to the conventional glass slides
  • Digital images can be easily shared with overseas research facilities and institutes for further consultation and collaboration, and will be securely stored and categorised on database as part of the laboratory information system
Biosafety Cabinet
  • Used for biohazard risks like working with microbial agents (bacteria and viruses, etc.), and biological agents treated with minute quantities of volatile toxic chemicals and high levels of organic compound to ensure no harmful particles will be released into the environment
Upright Bright Field Microscope and Stereo Microscope
  • Equipped with digital imaging capture attachments for routine clinical or biological examination of histology and cytology of stranded animal body fluid and tissue samples
  • Allows viewing and sharing of microscopic images via Wi-Fi stream for educational purposes

香港海洋生物救護及教育中心

由匯豐 150 週年慈善計劃撥款資助的「香港海洋生物救護及教育中心」(救護及教育中心)於2019年9月2日正式開幕。香港海洋生物救護及教育中心設施先進完備,包括電腦斷層掃描儀器、組織病理實驗室及抹片掃描器,以加強數據處理和分析的數量和質量。中心為海洋生物擱淺個案設置虛擬資料庫,亦可透過即時串流平台,與其他專家分享知識及作諮詢用途,填補現時海洋動物擱淺研究的不足,同時為最近獲香港獸醫管理局認可、作為香港的獸醫臨床訓練中心之一的海洋公園獸醫院加強訓練和研究設施。

除了安排專業工作坊,救護及教育中心亦會安排一系列教育活動及導賞團,開放予公眾及中學生參與。每月舉辦的「香港海洋生物救護及教育中心開放日導賞團」將讓參加者了解保育基金的鯨豚擱淺救護行動及所需設備。為初中學生而設的「海洋生物擱淺之謎」則透過不同活動及個案研究,讓學生深入認識各種檢查方法及如何調查動物擱淺的的背後原因。另一教育活動「海洋公園工作實錄 – 動物救援」,除了向高中學生介紹先進設備及解剖方法,同時讓他們從保育基金「海洋生物擱淺行動組」及海洋公園獸醫團隊親身分享,加深了解團隊在救援擱淺動物時所擔當的重要角色。

了解更多有關本地海洋生物擱淺個案。

開放日導賞團

由匯豐 150 週年慈善計劃撥款資助的「香港海洋生物救護及教育中心」(救護及教育中心)於2019年9月2日正式開幕!救護及教育中心是亞洲區內唯一一間結合擱淺科研及教育的設施。為更有效推展保育和教育工作,保育基金將於救護及教育中心舉行每月一次的開放日,持海洋公園入場門票的遊人可免費參加導賞團,更深入了解保育基金在海洋生物保育及擱淺行動的工作!

導賞團簡介

  • 認識海洋生物(鯨豚、鯊魚及海龜)擱淺行動工作
  • 了解「海洋生物擱淺行動組」在收到香港水域或鄰近地區擱淺的舉報通知後,如何迅速地到達現場並進行解剖及化驗
  • 認識救護及教育中心內的設施及用具(例如:電腦斷層掃描系統、解剖室、組織病理學實驗室等)
  • 體驗真實擱淺個案分析、鯨豚頭骨標本展示、短片分享
  • 了解香港水域的海洋生物面對的不同威脅

備註

  • 導賞團時間有可能作出改動,請留意保育基金網頁及 Facebook 的最新消息
  • 前往參觀地點需要經過樓梯,如遊人需要協助,請最少於 5 天前致電 (852) 3923-2323 預約導賞團。否則不需要提前預約

特別天氣安排

在一般的天雨情況下,海洋公園將正常運作,園內亦有足夠設備以免遊客受天雨影響。如遇上惡劣天氣,例如由香港天文台發出暴雨警告訊號或颱風訊號,公園將有特別安排。為顧及遊客的安全,導賞團或會在惡劣天氣下暫停,敬請見諒。如欲查詢海洋公園的最新特別天氣安排,歡迎致電 (852) 3923 2323 或瀏覽 https://www.oceanpark.com.hk/tc/weather-arrangements

設備及儀器

香港海洋生物救護及教育中心由滙豐150週年慈善計劃撥款資助成立,是亞洲首間兼備傳統與虛擬解剖動物設施的綜合研究及教育中心,可全方位分析海洋生物傷亡原因,並提供數據主導的見解分析,有助日後制訂監察及保育措施。

中心簡介
擱淺個案分析

香港海洋公園保育基金(保育基金)於2006年展開鯨豚擱淺調查及相關研究工作至今,其中三成個案由人為因素導致。綜合數據,保育基金團隊總結出在本港水域出沒的鯨豚所面對的三大威脅:一)漁網或漁具纏繞、二)船隻撞擊,以及三)細菌感染。行動中發現的屍體大多已經嚴重腐爛,只有一成個案能確定死因。

隨著救護及教育中心開幕,保育基金除可進一步調查擱淺個案,亦能處理更多樣本及進行實驗分析,填補現時資料的不足。

培訓及教育

香港海洋生物救護及教育中心是一個可綜合處理擱淺個案應對技術,建立培訓資源,並促進本地和地區性研究的獨特平台。中心亦為亞洲處理擱淺個案的專家提供知識及技術交流平台,確保亞洲擁有優秀的動物護理及野生動物保護知識及技巧。

該中心更旨在激勵和培育新一代科學家和保育人士。透過實習經驗和工作坊,保育基金希望公眾能有機會更深入了解擱淺行動和相關研究,同時擴展保育教育工作。

 

解剖室
設備 詳細資料

電腦斷層掃描系統

  • 最大容量:250公斤
  • 可掃描活動物和動物屍體
  • 可掃描並檢查動物體內是否有塑膠或異物
  • 可提供動物身體內部創傷的影像,如骨折或內臟器官損傷等

 

電子X光機
  • 可即時顯示掃描結果,方便診斷
  • 便攜式設計,可讓獸醫團隊掃描難以觸及的位置
  • 可省卻傳統X光繁複檢查程序,如更換膠片和轉換動物位置等
  • 電子數據更方便儲存,更易於與園外專家分享
雪房
  • 溫度:4°C
  • 可臨時存放動物屍體
冰房
  • 溫度:-22°C
  • 長期儲存擱淺個案樣本
組織病理學處理工作台
  • 擁有完善的配套設備,可進行肉眼檢查及於檢驗屍體後製作標本。組織樣本將保存在工作台的防腐液內
  • 配備機械式持續通風系統(後吸和下吸式排氣),以保護操作員在樣本處理過程中免受有害氣體影響
  • 配備供水系統、水槽、防腐液容器和廢料箱,以減少生物或化學物質洩漏風險

 

 

組織病理學實驗室
設備 詳細資料
電子抹片掃描系統
  • 電子抹片掃描系統是組織病理學實驗室中必備的先進儀器
  • 可將組織病理學所用的抹片數碼化,儲存樣本圖像,方便研究時重複查看、複製和分享保持樣本原來品質的圖像,避免傳統抹片損壞或遺失的風險
  • 電子圖像可更簡易與海外研究和學術機構分享,方便進一步諮詢和合作,並作為實驗室數據系統的一部分,分類並保存在數據庫
生物安全櫃
  • 避免具感染性的生物樣本洩漏風險,如研究微生物製劑(細菌和病毒等)、帶微量揮發性的有毒化學物和高含量有機化合物的生物製劑,以確保不會釋放出有害物質污染環境
直立式明視野顯微鏡和立體顯微鏡
  • 配備電子圖像拍攝配件,方便對擱淺動物的體液和組織樣本進行例行臨床或生物學檢查,並應用於組織病理學和細胞學研究
  • 通過Wi-Fi串流方式,查看和分享顯微圖像,以進行教育相關項目